Online Store
0
Home > Non-fiction > The Riverbones: Stumbling After Eden In The Jungles Of Suriname
The Riverbones: Stumbling After Eden In The Jungles Of Suriname
Download Hi-Res Cover
Visit Author's Website




The Riverbones: Stumbling After Eden In The Jungles Of Suriname

Author: Andrew Westoll



In the vein of Theroux and Matthiessen, Andrew Westoll is an eco-travel writer for the new millennium.

Suriname is among the least travelled countries in South America, a little-known land of myth, magic and ecological wonder perched just above Brazil. It is a place of great hope, home to the largest tract of pristine rainforest left on the planet. But this Last Eden also has a dark side: environmental devastation, political corruption and appalling poverty.

Andrew Westoll first fell under Suriname's spell when he spent a year studying monkeys deep inside its primordial jungles. Five years later, he returned on a quest to uncover the country's mysterious soul.
Through harrowing journeys by foot, bus and dugout canoe, Westoll illustrates how the modern struggles for human rights and ecological preservation can often compete with the economic needs of a proud people -- with tragic consequences.

The Riverbones is a spellbinding tale of survival, heartbreak, mystery and murder -- a search for redemption in a country haunted by a troubled past and an uncertain future.
OTHER TITLES BY WESTOLL, ANDREW
The Chimps of Fauna Sanctuary: A True Story of Resilience and Recovery
The Chimps of Faun...
Andrew Westoll


On a small farm in the Canadian countryside, thirteen elderly chimpanzees are living out what’s left of their troubled lives. Retired from the infamous laboratories where they were abused for decades, ...



Reviews