Shopping Cart
You have no items in your shopping cart.

Scott, John Alan

John A. Scott was born in England in 1948 and is the author of several novels and books of poetry and prose. He has received a number of major Australian writing awards, including the Victorian Premier’s Prize for his book of poetic narratives, St. Clair, in 1986 and for the novel, What I Have Written, in 1994. Recently, he has become involved in writing for film and his work includes the screenplay adaptation of What I Have Written. He currently lectures in the Faculty of Creative Arts at Wollongong University. John A. Scott: Selected Poems is a collection of work spanning more than twenty years. It was published by UQP in 1995.
Sort by

John A. Scott: Selected Poems

Picture of John A. Scott: Selected Poems
This collection brings together poems, prose-poems and narrative sequences spanning a period of over twenty years. Underlying the diversity of forms and approaches, however, is a remarkable unity of vision. From the early free-form sonnets of the sixties, through to the almost filmic narratives of the mid-eighties, these poetic texts constitute a sustained investigation into power, loss and desire, and the role that language might play in this inter-relationship. John A Scott is the winner of Victorian Premier's Awards in poetry (1986) and in fiction (1994).