Shopping Cart
You have no items in your shopping cart.

Brinsmead, Hesba

Hesba Brinsmead was born in the Blue Mountains in 1922 and married Reg Brinsmead in 1942. \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\"Pastures of the Blue Crane\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\", her first children’s book, was published in 1964 and earned her the Dame Mary Gilmore Medal and the CBCA Children’s Book of the Year Award in 1965. It was subsequently made into a successful mini-series by ABC TV. She went on to write over twenty successful children’s books, including the popular \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\"Longtime\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\" series set in the Blue Mountains of her childhood. Although frail and suffering from ill health, Hesba took an active interest in literature right up until she passed away in 2003.
Sort by

The Pastures Of The Blue Crane

Picture of The Pastures Of The Blue Crane
Now back in print – One of Australia’s most loved children’s books Brought up in the solitary environment of exclusive boarding schools, Ryl has learned to be independent, but when her mysterious father dies, her whole world changes. Part of her inheritance is a half-share in a dilapidated farm which she shares with a scruffy grandfather she meets for the first time. "Pastures of the Blue Crane" won the CBCA Book of the Year award in 1965, and has been loved by generations of Australian readers since. Set in the lush subtropics of Northern New South Wales, this classic story is both a moving portrait of family life, and a remarkable insight into a different Australia.