Shopping Cart
You have no items in your shopping cart.

Mears, Gillian

Gillian Mears lives and writes near Grafton in northern New South Wales. She has published four collections of short stories. Ride a Cock Horse won the Commonwealth Writers\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\' Regional First Book Prize (1989) and Fineflour (UQP 1990) was published to critical acclaim. More recent volumes are Collected Stories (UQP 1997) and A Map of the Gardens (2002). Her first novel The Mint Lawn was awarded the Vogel/Australian prize in 1990, and The Grass Sister won the Commonwealth Writers\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\' Regional Best Book Prize in 1996. In 1997 Gillian published Paradise is a Place, a photo essay in collaboration with Sydney photographer Sandy Edwards.
Sort by

Collected Stories Gillian Mears

Picture of Collected Stories Gillian Mears
Gillian Mears is a courageous and strikingly original storyteller who has twice won Commonwealth Writers' regional awards, as well as the coveted Vogel Award. Her early stories - from the prizewinning Ride a Cock Horse and the critically acclaimed Fineflour - chronicle life in small country towns. Their raw atmosphere of grief and sadness is alleviated by Mears' consistently unconventional sense of the comic. the later stories use a wider lens, introducing a shift in sexual orientation and presenting different angels on the country town, along with locales in Africa, France and England."Passionate, intimate, intuitive recollections of life ... intense, lyrical and profoundly celebratory."Karen Lamb, Age



Picture of Fineflour
The river Fineflour flows through this narrative as it flows through the town, linking time and place, character and event. A source of myth and memory, it brings tragedy as well as comfort. There is an undercurrent of sadness and suspended grief in Gillian Mears' writing that is balanced by her tenderness and unconventional sense of the comic. Gillian Mears is also the author of Ride a Cock Horse which won the commonwealth Writers' Regional First Book Award in 1989, The Mint Lawn which won the Vogel/Australian Literary Award, and The Grass sister, regional winner of the Commonwealth Writers Award in 1996.