Online Store
Home > Authors > Brian Castro
 Brian Castro

Brian Castro

0 Titles
BRIAN CASTRO was born in Hong Kong in 1950. He was sent to a boarding school in Australia in 1961 and began publishing short stories in 1970 while at Sydney University. He was joint winner of the Australian/Vogel literary award for his first novel Birds of Passage (1983), which has been translated into French and Chinese. This was followed by Pomeroy (1990), Double-Wolf (1991), winner of The Age Fiction Prize, the Victorian Premier’s Innovatory Writing Award and the Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction, and subsequently After China (1992), which again won the Vance Palmer prize for Fiction at the 1993 Victorian Premier’s Awards. His fifth novel, Drift, was published in July 1994. Three of his novels were published in Germany in 1998–99. He has also written a play (Secrets), which was performed at the 1994 Sydney Festival, a radio play (Nightsafe Area) for the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and together with Jim Sharman, a screenplay of After China. Castro has worked in Australia, France and Hong Kong as a teacher and writer, and for several years was a literary reviewer for Asiaweek magazine. His sixth novel Stepper won the 1997 National Book Council Prize for fiction. He is currently writing a fictional autobiography. Shanghai-Dancing, based on his family’s life in China during the 1930s. He has lived in Paris, in Hong Kong and for many years, in the Blue Mountains outside of Sydney, but like his familial and fictional forebears, he leads an increasingly peripatetic life. He currently resides in the Dandenong Ranges near Melbourne.