Online Store
Home > Authors > Kristina Olsson

Kristina Olsson

4 Titles
Kristina Olsson is the author of the novel In One Skin (2001) and the biography Kilroy Was Here (2005). Her second novel, The China Garden (2009), received the 2010 Barbara Jefferis Award for its empowering depiction of women in society and was also shortlisted for the Kibble Literary Award. Kristina’s non-fiction work Boy, Lost: A Family Memoir (2013) won the 2014 Kibble Literary Award, the 2014 NSW Premier’s Literary Award Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-fiction, the 2013 Queensland Literary Award for Best Non-fiction, and the 2014 Western Australia Premier's Book Award for Non-fiction. It was also shortlisted for the 2014 Stella Prize, the 2014 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards for Non-fiction, and the 2013 Australian Human Rights Commission Literature Award. Kristina’s journalism and non-fiction have been published in The Australian, The Courier-Mail, The Sunday Telegraph and Griffith REVIEW. She has worked extensively as a teacher of creative writing and journalism at tertiary level and in the community, and as an advisor to government. She lives in Brisbane.
In One Skin
In One Skin
Kristina Olsson

In One Skin is remarkably accomplished and mature for a first novel. It is an elegant and evocative book that explores the emotional ties of family life. Life's great themes appear in microcosm in thi ...

The China Garden
The China Garden
Kristina Olsson

When a newborn baby is found abandoned in a backyard, this dramatic event pierces the lives of three very different women. A captivating story about betrayal and its echoes across generations. As the ...

The China Garden (B format edition)
The China Garden (...
Kristina Olsson

As the lives of three small-town women collide, what is buried can no longer remain hidden. A captivating story about betrayal and its echoes across generations.

Boy, Lost: a family memoir
Boy, Lost: a famil...
Kristina Olsson

A powerful family memoir from the award-winning author of The China Garden


Winner 2014 Kibble Literary Award

Shortlisted 2014 Stella Prize

Winner 2013 Queensland Literary Awards,   Non-fiction Award

Winner 2014 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards - Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-fiction

Winner 2014 Western Australia Premier's Book, Non-fiction Award

Shortlisted 2014 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards, Non-fiction Award

Shortlisted 2013 Queensland Literary Awards, Courier-Mail People's Choice Queensland Book of the Year

Shortlisted 2013 Australian Human Rights Commission Literature Award

Winner 2013 Queensland Writer’s Fellowship