Online Store
Home > Poetry > Free Logic
Free Logic
Download Hi-Res Cover
Sample Chapter

Free Logic

Author: Rachael Briggs

 buy ebook 

Winner of the 2012 Thomas Shapcott Award.

Free Logic is a collection of poems about love, logic, sin, gender, and imaginary animals. Transmuting techniques, forms and figures as she moves with enviable ease from themes of love through landscape to logic, Rachael Briggs evinces a relentless inventiveness and intelligence.

Structured as eight sets of inventive poems, from ‘Twelve Love Stories’ which feature different kinds of love to ‘Solve for X and Y’ which pits characters against surreal problems to ‘Tough Luck’, a crown of sonnets which follows one narrator through a journey of unrequited love and identity discovery, this exciting new volume announces the arrival of a fresh and vital voice in Australian poetry.